Profil d'un avocat



Madeleine Renaud, Ad. E.

BUREAU

Montréal

TÉLÉPHONE

514-397-4252

ADRESSE ÉLECTRONIQUE

mrenaud@mccarthy.ca

CARTE VIRTUELLE

FACULTÉ DE DROIT

Université d'Ottawa

ADMISSION AU BARREAU

Ontario, 1989
Québec, 1988




Biographie

Madeleine Renaud est associée au sein du groupe de droit de la concurrence à Montréal. Outre le droit de la concurrence, Me Renaud pratique le litige en droit administratif, constitutionnel et réglementaire.

Me Renaud conseille un vaste éventail de clients canadiens et internationaux sur tous les aspects du droit de la concurrence canadien, y compris les fusions nationales et internationales et les enquêtes de nature criminelle sur les cartels et le truquage des offres. En matière de fusions et acquisitions, elle a représenté de nombreux clients canadiens et étrangers dans le cadre de notifications auprès du Bureau de la concurrence, notamment :

  • Fusion de Lafarge SA avec Holcim Limited.;
  • Acquisition d’une participation minoritaire dans Groupe BMR par La Coop fédérée;
  • Acquisition de Big Sky Farms inc. par Olymel s.e.c.;
  • Acquisition de Câble Alcan, une division de Rio Tinto, par General Cable Corporation;
  • Acquisition de l’entreprise de distribution canadienne de AmerisourceBergen Corporation par Kohl & Frisch Limited;
  • Acquisition par Corporation Fiera Capital de Gestion de portefeuille Natcan Inc.

Me Renaud a participé à plusieurs causes d’envergure portant sur le droit de la concurrence, que ce soit devant les tribunaux ou le Tribunal de la concurrence, notamment celles impliquant Chrysler Canada, la Compagnie Pétrolière Impériale Limitée, l’Association québécoise des pharmaciens propriétaires, Nova Scotia Pharmaceutical Society, la Fédération des producteurs de porcs du Québec, ADM Agri-Industries Ltd, Astral Media Inc., Cascades Groupe Papiers fins et Infineon Technologies. Me Renaud représente des clients dans le cadre d’enquêtes et d'actions collectives concernant des cartels présumés à l’échelle nationale et internationale visant, par exemple, les vitamines, les additifs alimentaires, le papier autocopiant en feuilles, les produits chimiques du caoutchouc, la DRAM (mémoire vive dynamique), les services de fret aérien, la vente au détail de l’essence, les lecteurs de disques optiques, l’industrie de la construction et les services de génie-conseil. De plus, elle plaide devant des organismes réglementaires et dans le cadre de recours en révision judiciaire, particulièrement en matière de droit agroalimentaire.

Me Renaud a été présidente de la Section nationale du droit de la concurrence de l'Association du Barreau canadien pour l’exercice 2005-2006. Elle a auparavant présidé le comité sur le droit de la concurrence et des affaires internationales ainsi que le comité sur les affaires criminelles de la Section. Elle a fait partie d’un groupe de travail externe constitué d’avocats et d’économistes experts chargés de conseiller le Bureau de la concurrence sur les amendements à la législation interdisant les cartels, lesquels sont entrés en vigueur en mars 2010. Elle a été invitée à titre de « Non-Governmental Advisor » aux conférences annuelles de l’International Competition Network, à Merida au Mexique (2003) et à Moscou en Russie (2007), ainsi qu’au Cartel Workshop à Yokohama au Japon (2010). Elle est membre du Conseil sur la politique de la concurrence de l’Institut C.D. Howe.

Me Renaud a été nommée en 2006 par le gouvernement du Québec pour entendre des différends en vertu de l’Accord sur le commerce intérieur et a fait partie, en 2010, d’un Groupe spécial sommaire qui s’est prononcé sur un différend en suspens relatif à la réglementation des succédanés de produits laitiers par l’Ontario. Me Renaud a reçu le titre d’Avocate émérite du Barreau du Québec en 2007 et l’Ordre du mérite de la Faculté de droit civil, section droit civil, de l’Université d’Ottawa en 2011, en reconnaissance de son excellence professionnelle, de sa contribution remarquable à la profession et de son rayonnement exceptionnel.

Me Renaud a publié de nombreux articles sur le droit de la concurrence et divers sujets. Elle est souvent invitée à titre de conférencière à des colloques nationaux portant sur le droit de la concurrence. En collaboration avec ses collègues Yves Bériault et Yves Comtois, elle a rédigé Le droit de la concurrence au Canada, traité en français sur le droit de la concurrence canadien, publié par Carswell (1999). Avec Emily Rix, elle a rédigé le chapitre sur les actions collectives du manuel intitulé « undamentals of Canadian Competition Law » publié par l’Association du Barreau canadien.

Me Renaud est classée dans la dernière édition du guide Chambers Canada dans le domaine de la concurrence et du litige en droit de la concurrence. Elle figure également au classement du répertoire Martindale-Hubbell. Elle est inscrite à titre de chef de file dans le domaine du droit de la concurrence dans les dernières éditions de Lexpert Leading US/Canada Cross-Border Litigation Lawyers, de Lexpert®/American Lawyer Guide to the Leading 500 Lawyers in Canada, de Chambers Global: The World’s Leading Lawyers, de Best Lawyers in Canada, de PLC Which Lawyer, de Competition Law Handbook (Practical Law Company), Who’s Who Legal – Canada ainsi que de l’International Who’s Who of Business Lawyers. Elle figure dans le Euromoney Legal Media Group’s Guide to the World’s Leading Competition & Antitrust Lawyers et le Guide to the World’s Leading Women in Business Law. De plus, elle est inscrite à titre de chef de file dans le domaine du droit administratif et public dans la dernière édition du répertoire Best Lawyers in Canada, ainsi qu’à titre de chef de file dans le domaine du litige en droit publique et du droit de la concurrence dans la plus récente édition du Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory.

Au fils des ans, Me Renaud a siégé au conseil d’administration de divers organismes sans but lucratif. En 2011-2012, elle a présidé la campagne de financement de L’Arrêt-Source, une maison d’hébergement pour jeunes femmes en difficulté. Elle est actuellement vice-présidente et vice-présidente au financement privé de L’Arrêt-Source.

Me Renaud a obtenu un baccalauréat en traduction ainsi qu’un diplôme de droit civil (LL.L.), summa cum laude, et un diplôme de common law, magna cum laude, de l'Université d’Ottawa. Elle a été stagiaire auprès du juge Antonio Lamer de la Cour suprême du Canada. Elle est membre du Barreau du Québec et du Barreau de l’Ontario, de même que de l’Association du Barreau canadien, de l’Association du Barreau américain — Section du droit antitrust, et de la Commission internationale des juristes (Section canadienne). Elle parle et écrit couramment le français et l’anglais.

Publications


Manchettes


Transactions et causes


Notre cabinet


 
McCarthy Tétrault assure la prestation de services intégrés en droit des affaires, en fiscalité, en droit immobilier, en litige et en droit du travail et de l’emploi à l’échelle nationale et mondiale par l’entremise de ses bureaux situés à Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Montréal, Québec et Londres.
Lire

Lawyer Profile Detail



Madeleine Renaud, Ad. E.

OFFICE

Montreal

DIRECT LINE

514-397-4252

E-MAIL

[email protected]

V-CARD

LAW SCHOOL

University of Ottawa

BAR ADMISSION

Ontario, 1989
Québec, 1988




Biography

Madeleine Renaud is a partner in our Competition Group in Montréal. In addition to competition law, she practises litigation focusing on administrative, constitutional and regulatory law.

Ms. Renaud advises a broad range of Canadian and international clients on all aspects of Canadian competition law, including national and international mergers and criminal investigations into cartel and bid-rigging allegations. With respect to merger review, she represented Canadian and foreign clients in the context of M&A transactions notifiable under the Competition Act, including:

  • Merger between Lafarge SA and Holcim Limited;
  • Acquisition of Groupe BMR by La Coop fédérée;
  • Acquisition of Big Sky Farms inc. by Olymel LP;
  • Acquisition of Alcan Cable, the wire and cable business of Rio Tinto, by General Cable Corporation;
  • Acquisition of the Canadian distribution business of AmerisourceBergen Corporation by Kohl & Frisch Limited;
  • Acquisition by Fiera Capital Corporation of Natcan Investment Management Inc.

Ms. Renaud has been involved in several landmark cases involving competition legislation before the courts and the Competition Tribunal, including Chrysler Canada, Imperial Oil Limited, Association québécoise des pharmaciens propriétaires et al., Nova Scotia Pharmaceutical Society et al., Fédération des producteurs de porcs du Québec, ADM Agri-Industries Ltd., Astral Media Inc., Cascades Fine Papers Group, Infineon Technologies, and others. She represents clients in investigations and class actions related to alleged cartel activities, both nationally and internationally, with respect to products such as vitamins, carbonless sheets, rubber chemicals, DRAM, airline cargo services, retail gasoline, optical disk drives, construction and consulting engineering services. In addition, she acts for various clients in judicial review and regulatory proceedings, primarily related to agri-food law.

Ms. Renaud was Chair of the National Section of Competition Law of the Canadian Bar Association in 2005-2006; she was previously chair of the International Competition and Trade Law Committee and of the Criminal Matters Committee of the Section. She was selected by the Competition Bureau to be to be part of an external task force of lawyers and expert economists appointed to advise on reforming the cartel legislation, which culminated in the amendments to the Competition Act that came into force in March 2010. She was invited as Canadian non-governmental advisor (NGA) at the International Competition Network (ICN) Annual Conferences in Merida, Mexico (2003) and Moscow, Russia (2007), and the ICN Cartel Workshop in Yokohama, Japan (2010). She is a member of the Competition Policy Council of the C.D. Howe Institute.

Ms. Renaud was appointed in 2006 by the government of Québec to hear disputes pursuant to the Internal Trade Agreement and was part of a Summary Panel in 2010 to review an outstanding dispute regarding Ontario regulation of imitation dairy products. She was awarded the title Advocatus Emeritus in 2007 by the Québec Bar, and the Order of Merit in 2011 by the Faculty of Law, Civil Law Section, of the University of Ottawa, in recognition of her professional excellence, outstanding contribution to the profession and exceptional outreach.

Ms. Renaud authored a number of papers relating to competition law and other topics and is a frequent guest speaker at national conferences on competition law. With her colleagues Yves Bériault and Yves Comtois, Ms. Renaud authored the first French-language textbook on Canadian competition law entitled "Le droit de la concurrence au Canada", published by Carswell (1999). With Emily Rix, she authored the chapter on "Private Litigation and Class Actions" in Fundamentals of Canadian Competition Law published by the Canadian Bar Association.

Ms. Renaud received the 2017 Client Choice Award for her leadership in competition and antitrust in Québec from Lexology. She is ranked in the current edition of Chambers Canada in the areas of Competition/Antitrust law and Competition/Antitrust Litigation law. She is rated by the Martindale-Hubbell Directory and appears as a leading competition lawyer in the most recent editions of Lexpert Leading US/Canada Cross-Border Litigation Lawyers, Lexpert®/American Lawyer Guide to the Leading 500 Lawyers in Canada, Chambers Global: The World’s Leading Lawyers, Best Lawyers in Canada, The Legal 500 - Canada, PLC Which Lawyer, Competition Law Handbook (Practical Law Company), Who’s Who Legal – Canada, and the International Who’s Who of Business Lawyers. Furthermore, she is featured in Euromoney Legal Media Group’s Guide to the World’s Leading Competition & Antitrust Lawyers and Guide to the World’s Leading Women in Business Law. She also appears as a leading lawyer in administrative and public law in the last edition of Best Lawyers in Canada and as a leading lawyer in public law litigation and competition law in the last edition of the Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory.

Over the years, Ms. Renaud has sat on the board of various non-profit community organizations. In 2011-2012, she chaired the fundraising campaign of L’Arrêt-Source, a shelter for young women in difficulty. She is currently Vice-chair and Vice-chair, Private Fundraising of L’Arrêt-Source.

Ms. Renaud received her bachelor’s degree in Translation as well as her civil law degree (LLL), summa cum laude, and her common law degree (LLB), magna cum laude, from the University of Ottawa. She clerked with the Honourable Justice Antonio Lamer of the Supreme Court of Canada. She is called to the Bars of Québec and Ontario and is a member of the Canadian Bar Association, the American Bar Association (Antitrust Law Section) and the International Commission of Jurists Canadian Section. She is fluent in both English and French.

Publications


News


Transactions & Cases


Our Firm


 
McCarthy Tétrault delivers integrated business law, tax, real property, labour and employment, and litigation services nationally and globally through offices in Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Montréal, Québec City, as well as in New York City and and London, UK.
Read