Governance and Leadership

Governance and Leadership

McCarthy Tétrault’s dynamic governance model and leadership structure deliver the power of the whole firm, wherever we need to be, to best serve our clients. Our lawyers practise within a single, unified partnership under an organizational structure that mirrors those of the organizations we serve.

  • Our partners delegate authority to an elected board of partners.
  • Our leadership team, under the direction of the Chief Executive Officer, leads and markets the firm's resources to deliver complex, sophisticated, multi-dimensional legal services to its clients.

Our clients benefit from the deep expertise of McCarthy Tétrault’s practice and industry groups. Our team-based environment and efficient management structure enable us to delegate work efficiently, regardless of geographic location or area of expertise, guaranteeing client needs are met quickly and consistently.

Please see below for information on the firm’s board of partners and leadership team:

Board of Partners:

David Lever (Chair of the Board)
Sarit E. Batner
Linda Brown
Éric Gosselin
Sunil Kapur
Matthew S. Kelleher
Suzanne V. Murphy
Emmanuelle Poupart
Renee Reichelt
Thomas N.T. Sutton

Leadership Team:

Chief Executive Officer* David E. Leonard
National Practice Leader* Barbara J. Boake
Chief Operating Officer* Tracie Crook
National Innovation Leader* Matthew D. Peters
International and Business Strategy Leader* Shea T. Small
Chief Client Officer Judith McKay
Chief Community Officer John Osler
Chief Inclusion Officer David Platts
General Counsel/Chief Privacy Officer Malcolm M. Mercer
Chief Financial Officer Deepa Chander
Regional Managing Partners
Alberta Regional Managing Partner Sean S. Smyth
British Columbia Regional Managing Partner Sven O. Milelli
Ontario Regional Managing Partner Godyne N.L. Sibay
Québec Regional Managing Partner Karl Tabbakh
Office Managing Partner
New York, US Mark Adkins
London, UK Robert J. Brant
Lead Partner
Québec City Mathieu Laflamme
Practice Group Leaders
Business Law Practice Group Leader Stephan Furlan
Labour and Employment Practice Group Leader Tim Lawson
Litigation Practice Group Leader Caroline Zayid
Real Property and Planning Practice Group Leader John C. Currie
Tax Practice Group Leader Christian Meighen
Industry Group Leaders
Retail & Consumer Markets Industry Group Leader Lara Nathans
Financial Services Industry Group Leaders Barry J. Ryan and
Marc J. MacMullin
Life Sciences Industry Group Leaders David Frost and
Philippe Leclerc
Mining Industry Group Leaders Shea T. Small and
Roger R. Taplin
Oil & Gas Industry Group Leader Craig N. Spurn
Pharmaceutical Industry Group Leader Steve Mason
Power Industry Group Leader Seán O’Neill
Technology Industry Group Leader Charles Morgan
US Markets Practice Leader David B. Tennant
China Practice Leaders Joyce Lee
Africa Practice Leader Pierre Boivin
* Denotes members of the Senior Leadership Team

Diversity Makes Us Stronger

Creating and maintaining a work environment which enables us to attract, retain and advance the brightest, most talented and committed people is a critical element to deliver the highest standards of professional excellence and client service.
Read more

Recent News

In the Community

McCarthy Tétrault supports a variety of charitable initiatives on a national and local level, through a combination of sponsorships, active volunteering and pro bono work.

Quick Facts

View more

Awards and Rankings

McCarthy Tétrault and our practice groups consistently rank highly in national and international legal directories. View our most recent awards and recognition as well as our firm rankings.
View awards and recognition
View firm ranking