Expertise Detail



Energy

Canadian Energy Perspectives  Canadian Energy Perspectives Blog

Energy: increasingly in demand; increasingly challenging. If you’re involved in oil and gas, electricity or other energy services projects in Canada, the US or overseas, you need a superbly trained, highly experienced legal team that can clear your path through complex domestic and foreign legal issues. You need McCarthy Tétrault.

We advise the energy sector on some of the largest projects in North America. Our Energy Group comprises two components: power and oil and gas. In both areas, we provide tactical and timely advice related to developing, structuring, financing and operating large successful energy projects.

Whether you are a developer, equity investor, lender, major industrial and commercial user, oil and gas producer, pipeline, utility, government or government agency, when you turn to McCarthy Tétrault for your energy project needs, you access deep experience and industry know-how.

We can assist you with:

  • project development;
  • project finance;
  • mergers, acquisitions, restructuring, privatizations;
  • physical and financial energy-trading contracts;
  • permits and licences;
  • transportation arrangements; and
  • tolling arrangements.

You benefit from the breadth of our practice in the energy sector and the expertise we’ve gained from the large number of deals we see through to completion. We have bench strength across the country, in Vancouver, Calgary, Toronto, Montréal, Québec City and overseas, in London, UK.

We also draw on the strength of our firm’s other practice areas, such as real estate, environmental law, clean technology, corporate finance, mergers & acquisitions, and financial services to meet the full range of your legal needs.

Read more about our Power and Oil & Gas expertise.


View a list of recent rankings for this area of expertise.
View a list of lawyers who practice in this area of expertise.

For more information, please contact:

CALGARY

Gordon M. Nettleton
403-260-3622
gnettleton@mccarthy.ca
View profile
Craig N. Spurn
403-260-3525
cspurn@mccarthy.ca
View profile

LONDON, UK

Robert J. Brant
+44 (0)20 7786 5701
rbrant@mccarthy.ca
View profile

MONTREAL

Marc Dorion, Q.C., Ad. E.
514-397-5676
mdorion@mccarthy.ca
View profile

QUEBEC

Marc Dorion, Q.C., Ad. E.
418-521-3007
mdorion@mccarthy.ca
View profile

TORONTO

David A.N. Lever
416-601-7655
dlever@mccarthy.ca
View profile
George Vegh
416 601-7709
gvegh@mccarthy.ca
View profile

VANCOUVER

Robin Sirett
604-643-7911
rsirett@mccarthy.ca
View profile

Search Expertise by Keyword


Blog Posts


Transactions & Cases


Publications


News