Expertise Detail



Aboriginal Law

Aboriginal law often affects the development of land and natural resources across Canada.

Major entities involved in the energy, forestry, mining and transportation sectors, as well as the financial institutions investing in them, rely on McCarthy Tétrault to advise them on Aboriginal law matters nationally. Why?

  • We are leading practitioners in Aboriginal law in Canada.
  • Our lawyers have extensive experience working with government regulators and Aboriginal groups.
  • We have been involved in key litigation in this area, most recently with respect to the Crown’s duty to consult. We represent clients before all levels of the courts, as well as tribunals

As a client, you benefit from the depth and breadth of our experience and team approach. We distill the issues and create winning strategies to help you complete your project within the Aboriginal law framework.

Our National Environmental, Regulatory & Aboriginal Group advises businesses and industries on developments and activities in lands covered by treaties and land claims agreements, Indian reserve land and in areas subject to Aboriginal land claims. For example, private and public sector clients look to us to:

  • advise on planning, seeking regulatory approval for, developing, constructing and implementing large projects in the natural resources sector and major linear projects;
  • advise on and negotiate impacts and benefits agreements, socio-economic and environmental agreements, access agreements and accommodation agreements;
  • carry out Aboriginal-related due diligence; and
  • provide legal and strategic advice on dealing with governments and Aboriginal groups.

We deal with the full range of litigation matters regarding Aboriginal and treaty rights, the Crown’s duty to consult and accommodate, and legal challenges to government approvals.

We also provide strategic support on Aboriginal issues to colleagues across our firm in areas such as energy, mining, public mergers & acquisitions, financial services and environmental law.

For more information, please contact:

CALGARY

Kimberly J. Howard
403-260-3575
khoward@mccarthy.ca
View profile
Gordon M. Nettleton
403-260-3622
gnettleton@mccarthy.ca
View profile

MONTREAL

Marc-Alexandre Hudon
514-397-5642
mahudon@mccarthy.ca
View profile
Pierre Langlois
514-397-4428
planglois@mccarthy.ca
View profile

TORONTO

Peter Brady
416-601-8222
pbrady@mccarthy.ca
View profile
Bryn Gray
416-601-7522
begray@mccarthy.ca
View profile

VANCOUVER

Stephanie Axmann
604-643-7154
saxmann@mccarthy.ca
View profile

Search Expertise by Keyword


Blog Posts


Transactions & Cases


Publications


News